It was great to visit the open-air museum and learn about the history of the area, from life on the canals to life in the mines, all from the in-character tour guides there. The stunning 26-acre museum was a joy to walk around, especially as the weather was on our side and the sun kept shining.
We took a brief respite from the sun inside the museum’s ‘Limelight Cinema’ and enjoyed some silent movie era Laurel and Hardy – which even garnered laughs from the visiting school children. After the lunch time rush we paid a visit to the 1930’s High Street to enjoy some award-winning fish and chips at Hobbs and Sons – the chips are authentically cooked in beef dripping, although they can accomodate vegetarians. The car collection at the Bradburn and Wedge Motor Garage was also a hit, featuring cars from 1900 to 1935 – and even a fire engine.
Although we tried to view as much as much of the museum as possible, we’re eager to visit again soon and go down the mines or watch a blacksmith demonstration.